Bipolar Explorer

$15.00 (double cd)


The band’s 9th album, their third double-album, Deux Anges comprises 30 tracks over two discs, nearly three hours of new music from the NYC-based experimental dreampop trio. Blending their signature shoegaze anthems with spoken word  – narrative poetry, also composed by Serafin-Wells – and underscored by ambient instrumentation, the group further pushes the envelope into the realm of the experimental, in the vein of their work for the UK’s Dark Outside experimental radio broadcast events. The band, hugely romantic about radio, see the new album as a kind of nexus of the multi-stranded influence of the eclectic programming they adore via freeform stalwarts like London’s Resonance-FM, California’s KFJC and their beloved hometown’s WFMU. The discs themselves – separately entitled Dream 9 (disc one) and Les Deux Anges (disc two) – “each not unlike an hour’s long broadcast set without interruption, or mic break, awaiting only a back announce of what we just heard”.

Artwork/layout by Audun Grimstad.

$15.00 (double cd)

Dream 9
(disc one)

  1. Santa Barbara  6:26
  2. Either Side  1:25
  3. Infinity Hall  8:07
  4. Angels & Mortals  2:26
  5. Anthem 5  6:26
  6. In Spiritu  8:19
  7. Emergent  6:52
  8. Back to You  2:54
  9. Secrets of Strangers  6:26
  10. Hope Whispers  2:05
  11. The Night  5:36
  12. Dark Lullaby  5:54
  13. All The Colors  5:49
  14. Spring Storm  4:48
  15. Save Me  5:25

Les Deux Anges
(disc two)

  1. A Place  6:32
  2. Deux Anges  4:22
  3. San Simeon (You Said) 4:50
  4. Station to Station  5:20
  5. Starry Messenger  7:50
  6. Words & Wonders  2:02
  7. Mission Street  5:56
  8. Five Eight Eighteen  3:39
  9. Know in My Heart  5:04
  10. Snowfall  5:27
  11. Promise  7:37
  12. Zephyrs  5:22
  13. Ghost 3  5:01
  14. White Light  2:52
  15. Treasure  7:03

Summer Serafin – vocals, spoken word.
Michael Serafin-Wells – vocals, guitars, bowed guitar, bass, synth, organ, melodica, chimes, tape loops, percussion, spoken word.
Sylvia Solanas – spoken word, backing vocals, percussion.

Recorded live, noisily and in a hurry at The Shrine – NYC.
All songs, music, lyrics and spoken word narrative poems by Michael Serafin-Wells.
c. 2020 Thirteen November Music (ASCAP).
Translations into the French – Sylvia Solanas.
Produced by Bipolar Explorer.

Mastered by Scott Craggs, Old Colony – Boston.
Cover image: “Der Alte Matrose” by Gustave Dore (public domain).

c/p 2020 Bipolar Explorer, Slugg Records and Thirteen November Music (ASCAP)

Visit Deux Anges special website