Bipolar Explorer

painting by late American painter Mary Lizzie Macomber. Two women, Night watching over her daughter Sleep. Night is holding a little ball of glowing light with a star inside. Background is a shade of black, with little faint drops of light, like far away stars.

$17.00 (double cd)


A double-album – 22 tracks over two discs and two hours – it weaves together strands of the experimental, the ambient, spoken word, field recordings sprinkled with instrumentation and shoegaze-y compositions in a kind of eclectic, deep-listening dreamscape.

In The Hours follows in the mold of two of the band’s most recent albums – 2020’s Deux Anges (another double-album) and 2021’s Forests, Voices, Coastlines, Dreams: Recordings for The Dark Outside. While the latter (as its title may suggest), a collection of the band’s compositions for the UK’s storied experimental radio project, focused exclusively on the group’s more avant garde work and the former a more eclectic cross-genre endeavor, both mark the group’s affection for radio and their aim to create long-form soundscapes that evoke what the UK’s Norman Records has described as akin to “a distant late night radio transmission drifting to us as we lay half asleep in bed.”

 In The Hours Left Until Dawn was released digitally and as a limited edition double-CD with a 20 page booklet, shipping from both New York and France, on April 7.

$17.00 (double cd)

Error! Special characters like [, ], <, > are not supported in the product name.


  1. A Door Ajar in Dreams
  2. Transom
  3. Far Away From Fate
  4. Under Night’s Cloak
  5. Bad Dreams
  6. Through the Night
  7. Across the Water, part 1
  8. Night and Her Daughter, Sleep
  9. A Late Arrival
  10. Montparnasse
  11. Between the Raindrops
  12. Echoes Through the Concourse


  1. Crossed Lines
  2. Leap
  3. Second Time
  4. Matins
  5. Across the Water, part 2
  6. Gift
  7. The Amber Light
  8. Awakening
  9. A Dove and a White Horse
  10. Heaven

Summer Serafin – vocals, spoken word.
Michael Serafin-Wells – vocals, guitars, bowed guitar, bass, synth, organ, melodica, chimes, tape loops, percussion, spoken word.
Sylvia Solanas – spoken word, backing vocals.

All songs, music, lyrics and spoken word narrative poems by Michael Serafin-Wells.
c. 2023 Thirteen November Music (ASCAP).

Recorded live, noisily and in a hurry at The Shrine – NYC.
Field recordings on location – New York, California, France, Northern Atlantic Coast.

Produced by Bipolar Explorer.
Mastered by Scott Craggs, Old Colony – Boston.
Graphics and booklet by Sylvia Solanas.
Layout by Audun Grimstad.
Cover image: “Night and Her Daughter Sleep” by Mary L. Macomber (1902, public domain).

c/p 2023 Bipolar Explorer, Slugg Records and Thirteen November Music (ASCAP).